Who We Are

Ivins History

The first settlers came to Ivins (then known as the Santa Clara Bench) when local workers completed an eight-mile irrigation canal from Santa Clara Creek to the bench. Building the canal was difficult, since its builders had to contend with deep ravines and steep mountainsides. At first, culinary water came from a spring now known as Johnson Arch Spring located within what became Snow Canyon State Park.


The canal company gave lots to the first 10 families that settled the community. On January 15, 1922, Mr. and Mrs. Alden Gray were the first settlers to arrive. Ten families followed within the next two years. Since two of those families came on the same day, the canal company actually ended up providing 11 lots. These early settlers made their living raising crops and grazing cattle. The town incorporated on August 5, 1935 as Ivins in honor of surveyor and LDS apostle Anthony W. Ivins. Ivins agreed to the name as long as the settlers spelled it correctly. He donated $100 to the construction of the first chapel in the community and later sent a bell for it.

From these humble beginnings, Ivins has become a top-notch vacation destination, boasting an incredibly scenic location surrounded by the red sandstone bluffs of Snow Canyon State Park. It also boasts world-class spas that offer much more than just massages, manicures and other treatments, as well as the Tuacahn Amphitheater, a breathtaking outdoor theatrical venue that presents a full schedule of Broadway musicals, concerts and other special events throughout the year. Come visit us to discover the charm of Ivins yourself!

Home: What To Do: Where To Eat: Where To Stay: Who We Are: Where to Live: Maps & Locations: Calendar of Events: Contact Us: Blog
©Copyright 2008 - All Rights Reserved to Ivins Tourism Council
imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimage